Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is widely argued by some that the solution to solve the problems arising from heavy traffic and transportation is to compel people to stay in the major cities rather than in suburbs or villages. This may be due to the availability of better public transports facilities and wider roads. In my opinion, I completely disagree as most cities are already overcrowded and hence, facing their own share of transportation problems.

To begin with, firstly public transport is available in remote area but, it is not easily accessible as people have to travel to a bus depot which is centrally located and usually very far. Therefore, a majority of them prefer buying their own or using private vehicles. Secondly, the roads are very narrow since the terrain is uneven to construct wider roads at a stretch. Consequently, resulting in traffic congestion, especially during rush hours. For example, according to a recently documented survey, traveling the same distance in the suburbs takes almost double the time than that in the city. That is why, some school of thought believe that encouraging more and more people to move to the cities will reduce this problem.

On the contrary, most of the metros have already been declared as over crowded and any more manpower will put a drain on their resources. Although public transport is far more developed and there are a number of bridges, different modes of transportation and wider roads, it doesn't seem to ease the congestion. Moreover, many city folks too own fancy vehicles and like to wiz around in them, thus causing traffic jam and increase in pollution. To illustrate, in recent years due to the boom of cheap cars, many metros have witnessed a rise in the number of vehicles purchased. Therefore, once more people are encouraged to live in cities, it will pose a threat on the existing crises.

In conclusion, I definitely adhere that cities have their own challenges and any additional people will cause disruption and give rise to new problems. All areas have their ups and downs and encouraging people to move away is not the best method.