Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, people from the rural areas are moving into the urban areas for many reasons based on fast developments occurring in the urban area and for various opportunities. Some people may opt for a big shopping centre to replace the smaller shops, although is a good and positive development while others may prefer smaller chops to the bigger shops. In my view, is a two way thing based on preferences from individuals which will be written below.

To begin with, large shopping centres are a good development as it integrates unlimited variety of products that people wants. Moreover, it also creates job opportunities for people out there. For instance, large shopping mall can have a salon, cinema, restaurant, and pharmacy etc. All in one, this enables people to have a range of options of excitements. In addition, this can also help them to optimize fuel cost, rather than driving at different locations to purchase a product or go to the movies, they can achieve that in one place. Hence, it is nice that large shopping malls with its lots of benefits can outweigh the smaller malls.

On the other hands, there are flip sides on this matter. Firstly, safety concern is a factor when there is a large shopping mall. A case in point, because large shopping malls has a lot shops in it, it attracts crowd with different intent of coming to the mall and such thing could lead to kidnap or pick pockets when there is less attention among the crowd. Secondly, products can be expensive. Sometimes, some shops tend to increase the price of some products without their customers knowing while the small shops have a less expensive sort of products that can be purchased. At this point, is all based on the individual’s choice of what they want.

In summary, it is paramount to have a big shopping mall as it helps people to save cost, buy all products in one place with varieties of shop available and create window for jobs. However, it can be expensive which is why some people may prefer the smaller shops as it is less expensive.