Local people do not go very often to museums or historic sites. Why is that so? What can be done to change the situation?

Historical place and monuments are the integral part of culture though it has been noticed that citizens merely visit these places. This essay will discuss prime cause such as less interest of people in country’s history and less attractions being available. Moreover, it will also suggest progressive steps that could be took to address this issue which includes organizing concerts and exhibitions to entice public at these places along with free access to local.

To start with, people are studying about the historical places from their childhood and reviewed many times in their textbooks which make it less interesting to visit. According to the empirical survey conducted at Moenjodaro, an ancient civilization located in Pakistan, many respondents revealed that the are already aware of the place, have seen the pictures in history books and found nothing adventurous which intend them to visit it again. Thus, it is agreed that as citizens are aware of their countries past events and have read about it multiple times, makes them incurious about the places.

Historical places and museums lack public attractions and activities that motivate citizens to visit these places. It is recommended that historical civilizations and museums must adjoin fun activities such as theme parks and restaurants which tempt people to visit. This same concept was realised at Singapore space museum where on first floor it offers virtual games, on second floor there is museum & roof top restaurant that has exotic menu. Therefore, the museum turns to be a family excursion. Moreover, entertainment activities such as musical concerts, food festivals & clothing exhibitions at historical places & museums will also add attractions. For instance, Mohatama palace in Karachi was not frequently visited by people but once these mega events are setup, increased in footfall of local citizens was also documented. Consistent with this line of thinking, it is fair to believe that offering attractions at historical places will retain local people visit.

To conclude, citizens detain themselves from historical places and museums as they are already aware of the history and culture. Hence, in order to capture their attention administrators required to add values and adventures to these premises. It is predicted that renovation in historical places with modern technologies will increase the flow of people.