A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income Unfortunately tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world Do you think that ben

Today, a great number of countries all over the world depend on tourism to gain more income. It is argued that there are multiple issues associating with tourim. However, it is undeniable that there are benefits of tourism.

On the one hand, tourism could be a great way for individuals to unwind and alleviate stress. Since they have a huge amount of workload and assignments assigned by their bosses or lecturers, they might need a travel so as to get away from the bustling city life. As a result, they could comfortably relaxed, not to be care about anything and be ready for a new journey ahead leading to exellent performance at work or school. My brother, for example, used to be depressed with the test results a few years ago. He even thought of suicide to claim his life. However, with some advice given by his friend, he decided to spend some time to travel and explore the world ouside - which has always been new and unfamiliar to him. After a three - month vacation, he seems to become a brand new person with better insight into virtually everything in life, better communication skills- which really took me by surprise

On the other hand, there are quite a few disadvantages of tourism. Due to the fact that many infrastructure and skyscrapers are being constructed, the habitat of wildlife and marine ecosystem could be adversely affected. Animals such as tigers, lions or some living in the ocean like fish or crabs might be on the verge of extincion, leading to serious repercussions. There would be a decline in the animal populations and a negative effect on the biodiversity. It is, hence inevitable that people life would deteriorate in the long term. Furthermore, those who make a living on the tourist trade would have to suffer from poverty were there be a world economic downturn or an unexpected pandemic. Perhaps they may be out of work for a long time until the tourist trade thrives again. According to VTV3- a prevalent television channel in Viet Nam, reported that there are approximately three million citizens working in the tourist trade endured uncomfortable living condition when there was an emergence of covid 19 pandemic two years ago.

In conclusion, for all the demerits of tourism, I am convinced that the merits outweigh the demerits.