The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The libraries, which have been known as citadel of learning, are now equipped with various advanced technological methods to assist learners with their education. While the world has probed further with equipping technology in the libraries, the author favours the conservation of financial resources by encouraging the conventional form of reading. Personally, I disagree with the author and the contributing factors behind this disagreement will be discussed in the forth-coming paragraphs.

Conventionally, most of the community libraries were providing facilities for a very small number of readers. The funds to procure reading material were raised with the grants received from public bodies and donations from various private organisations. Moreover, the expenditure was limited for addition of new books and up-keep of the existing ones. With time, the number of readers increased, but the funding however, remained stagnant. Consequently, the high demand and less availability of content led to overuse and physical deterioration of the books.

As the scenario progressed further to the era of internet and technology, the resources for reading started being made available on internet. While the internet was being widely used for research and communication, it also brought a revolution in the world of readers by allowing the spread of E-books and reading materials without the need of costly printed content. Moreover, some internationally widespread resources portals like Wikipedia and Britannica encyclopaedia made it very economical for students to enhance their pool of knowledge without spending much on hard-books.

Summing up, I believe that the increasing number of readers can easily be catered by investing in hi-tech gadgets, CDs and online resources as it is much more economical than the maintenance and restoration of authentic material. Thus, the investment in technology is not a waste of money; it is rather advantageous in the long term.