The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Libraries are considered as the knowledge hub since ancient time. While, the conventional mindsets argued that hi-tech libraries distract readers and cost more money, others supported implementing of technology as it redefined the concept of libraries and influenced the way we learn new things and share information. Thus, I disagree with the notion that these amenities are a waste of resources and space because nowadays digital contents and advanced setups are widely used in public libraries globally.

Adopting the digital content not only provides better reading experience but also creates an interest in reading. Such technological advancements led to creation of online resources in form of web portals like Wikipedia and interactive content like Britannica encyclopaedia. As a result, the readers had the convenience of taking virtual tour of a historical place, at any time convenient, rather than reading it from the book during reading hours. Moreover, these digital resources consume very little space and use fewer staff person, a single CD can contain more than hundreds of books, which otherwise in form of hard-books would occupy more shelves and require human resources for management.

Interestingly, the earlier libraries carried out restoration of books, in a separate preservation room, that were damaged by moisture, natural wear and tear, whereas the modern setups do not require such facilities. For instance, Nalanda library in Bihar, the biggest place containing huge collection of ancient historical books and evidences, could not be saved from fire in the war with Mughal emperor and it resulted in loss of national treasure. Moreover, the modern libraries have become smarter and safer than before, by converting the printed content to digital form, which is beneficial in long term.

To conclude, the transformation of public libraries has proven beneficial and convenient for readers and researchers, they are better in terms of interactive learning and richer experience. It is expected that traditional libraries should include advanced methods to enhance human knowledge.