In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Food scarcity of late, is a global issue. In several countries a lot of people prefer to buy ferried food rather than, locally cultivated farm produce. The following essay would elucidate the reasons behind the people’s preference to purchase imported food items, as well as the essay would further come up with various solutions, in order to motivate people into buying farm fresh food.

Many people nowadays resort to buying transported ingredients as those countries don’t have the soil to cultivate that particular food item, besides many times it may be way too expensive to produce it in your land, as borrowing scientific technology and machines to enable the land to produce that particular raw material may become way too expensive. Like for instance India is known as the home of spices, and trying to grow these spices would be a very expensive and laborious affair, therefore USA chooses to buy spices from India. Moreover, people to buy imported food because it comes with apt quality checks, so with the guarantee of high quality food they opt to buy shipped foods like despite heavy import duties Ferrero Rocher a famous imported chocolate brand is still in high demand in India, as it is superior in flavour and even in texture.

There are several ways to motivate people into buying local foods by making people realise that it is healthier to eat farm grown food as, that food is full of freshness and its nutrient values are also retained. Like in California, which encourages people to eat from farmlands by providing various incentives and subsidies to regular consumers of local foods. Another means to tempt people to start buying from farmer’s markets, by making them undertasnd as to how they could support local economy to grow, since money spent in the local market would be again reinvested in local business or local trade. Thus making the full economy self-reliant. For example, a new campaign Funded by the Ministry of Agriculture meant to encourage consumers to buy products grown locally will come to Czech supermarkets next year. This campaign would certainly help the agricultural sector to grow.

To encapsulate, there is a need for imported and even for local food globally in order to curb the current food shortage, but of late simply local food is not in demand, which is of great concern to the international communities. However, after adopting sanguine measures hopefully their consumption would also increase. Thereby, making the each region of the world more independent.