In many countries paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages

At present, due to the advancement of technology, it has become very common to use mobile phone applications for making payments for various requirements. People from all over the world have been utilizing this service increasingly. While it has major advantages, it has some disadvantages too. This essay will outline both the views in detail.

The main disadvantage that one might experience while making online payments is the requirement of revealing personal bank details. It is often seen that many people have been attacked by cyber crimes when certain websites are hacked. In addition to this, those individuals who do not have access to the internet might find it difficult using this payment facility. For example, when a person is travelling in a remote location, where there are network issues as well as where a person cannot afford a mobile phone that can support downloading the application. Apart from this, older generation may find it difficult to understand online applications and might make mistakes. Despite this, the pros of using mobile phone applications outweighs the cons.

Firstly, it has enabled making payments extremely easy and convenient. People can avoid standing in ques and make payment at the click of a button. Secondly, it provides access to payment history easily whereas in the past we would have to save an acknowledgement copy for future reference. This has avoided the risk of losing documents and has saved paper. Moreover, the interface of mobile payment applications are quite user-friendly and simple for use. Apart from this, there are several incentives available such as early bird discounts and offer vouchers on making payments via cell phone. And lastly, it has a facility for payment reminders so that people do not forget due date of bills.

To conclude, paying for items using cell phone apps have saved a lot of time of people and eased payment process.