Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful others disagree Discuss both the vie

It is often argued that the information taken by employers on new joiners' hobbies, marital status and personal interest while they are applying for a job is irrelevant. Some people believe that providing this data is necessary and helpful while others disagree. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this part of the information taken is not used by any means during an individual's job period. This essay will further discuss whether sharing this personal information is important or not.

To begin with, any organisation does not have the time to consider each and every employee's interest while holding events for them. For instance, having a karaoke session on Women's' Day is held taking into account music being a common interest among all-female staff. This may not really impress everyone present at the show as not all would enjoy music. Apart from this, no privileges are given to one irrespective of their marital status. All the people are given equal opportunities and have to follow similar rules of the organisation whether they are single, divorced or married. Therefore, to sum up, information taken from individuals in regard to their interests and marital status is of no importance and can be avoided.

Though this piece of data is unuseful in most situations, it can be of some relevance to the employer. For example, certain companies prefer hiring applicants who are single as they believe that they will be able to give a better commitment to work than those who are married with household responsibilities. Also, some businesses evaluate individuals on the basis of their hobbies to decide their suitability for the requirement of their business.

To conclude, asking for information that may not be helpful to the employer is a total waste of time for both the person applying for the job and the Human Resource team. As far as possible, this ritual should be avoided.