In many countries paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages

In contemporary era, cellphones have become so popular that people can do almost everything with one device located in their pockets. As people have started using apple pay and google pay, paying for items using mobile is not that fancy feature anymore. We will elucidate both merits and demerits of it in ensuing paragraphs.

First of all, pondering on current affair of Covid-19, mobile pay offers contact-less payment option and keeps you safe and healthy. For example, recently I went for grocery shopping and completed my payment contact-free with the help of NFC(near field communication) chip. Secondly, people like me who loves to jog in fresh air will say that it is quite frustrating for them to have wallet with them. Moreover, most of the people on their way back home from jogging will stop for coffee, having convenience of paying by phone is great for them. Nevertheless, they always carry their phones with them for listening music.

Moreover, humans tend to forget things and their debit card pin is no different. When one spend hours in shopping and at the cash register if they don’t remember their pin and need to leave empty hand is bit disappointing. Although, it is less likely to possible but when one is old this might happen. Last but not the least, people like me always misplace their wallet or forget it at their house. For example, last week when I went for coffee at Starbucks, I forgot my wallet, luckily I have signed up for Apple Pay and could complete my transaction without any hurdle. Thus, if we have convenience of paying with mobile pay is better, even as a backup plan.

As each coin has two sides, though, there are many exceptional facilities of paying with phone, there are several issues, too. As I mentioned previously, NFC chip can be triggered via any other NFC devices and if any person with bad motive comes near this NFC enabled mobile then they can hack into it and get all information of victim. Also, in case your device get stolen, they will get access to all your bank details.

To wrap up, it is quite conspicuous that there are many advantage of paying by phone such as contact-less payment, no need to keep wallet all the time or remembering pins. In my opinion there are more merits than demerits and I think this is the future and we are going in correct direction.