In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Currently, the usage of smartphone payment applications has risen in a significant number of countries. While this tendency may increase the vulnerability of personal data, I am convinced that the advantages of this kind of payment can make the paying process more convenient for people.

On the one hand, using a smartphone application for payments can make one’s bank account vulnerable. Nowadays, hackers are inventing and developing various viruses that can infect the application’s payment system, thereby getting access to your bank account details. Doing this, they will use this information for stealing money. A few years ago in Ukraine, for example, there was a terrible scandal regarding PrivatBank’s online payment system which was substituted with a false one. The latter was collecting personal data of the bank customers that tried to pay using this system. Therefore, hundreds of users were robbed by hackers as they knew the clients’ passwords and other data to use those accounts for their advantage.

On the other hand, while paying for things with applications may endanger your savings, I do believe that this tendency simplifies the payment process allowing people not to carry significant sums of cash. Going shopping tends to make one carry a big amount of cash, and in such a case paying with a smartphone can prevent your money from being stolen during the process. Not only might applications save your cash, but also they make the payment process much easier. Online payment systems save your time as you pay for your purchase just by touching the payment terminal with your phone as well as by just pressing a few buttons and wiring your money. As a result, the whole shopping process is becoming faster and more convenient for an individual.

To conclude, everyday usage of smartphone applications for shopping has become more popular among people. Such a trend may cause the vulnerability of a customer’s personal data, however, I would still argue that the simplicity of such a method and the safety of cash that it brings are likely to be positive factors of this tendency.