In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in the water, so people think they should be banned.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by many people that plastic shopping bags should be prohibited, as they are major source of waste ,which just not pollutes the land but also the sea ,around the world.

In my opinion, i totally agree with this fact as this forms a major threat to the mankind as well marine life .

Firstly , Non recyclable plastic, forms a major source of pollution. Plastic material is formed with certain hazardous materials which cannot be recycled easily and as a result, it causes a lot of land fillings all over the world and eventually forming as a major source of pollutant . Further more, it is reported that it takes several years for such waste to get decomposed which puts the entire mankind at serious risk. To exemplify , in a recent survey , reported by famous magazine’ Times’ that more than 30% of the total waste which is found on the waste barren lands is non recyclable . Hence government should keep a cap on using the plastic and take necessary steps to ban them.

On the other hand , Garbage affects the marine animals too to a larger extent . People are often seen throwing garbage into water bodies such as rivers and most importantly sea ,which is causing a high level of contamination to water as well to the aquatic animals reside in them .It is also reported according to the recent survey , that a large whale was found dead ,due to the consumption of around 1.8 kgs of plastic.

To conclude, people should be responsible and religiously avoid such garbage dumps ,which takes a great toll on several lives. Also , government should take necessary measures in banning non- recyclable products and promote to using bags instead .