In many countries senior positions have higher salaries compared to those of young workers of the same company. Some people think this isn’t justified. Do you agree or disagree?

While some believe that rewarding those in managerial positions with higher pay packets is appropriate, not everyone agrees with this view. Personally, I am leaning towards the latter position due to the negative impacts caused by the significant difference in salaries within a company.

For one, executive officers should know that higher than sufficient salaries are not necessary. Indeed, the higher the remuneration they receive, the more likely the company to suffer from devoid of financial capability. Furthermore, they often gain powers that money can’t buy. For instance, they often make important decisions over how to make their company thrive. They are also entitled to allocate the company’s budget and designate tasks to other workers. In lieu of these non-financial entitlements, they should refrain from earning more than reasonable amounts as salaries.

Unreasonably high salaries granted to the executives can also afflict other employees. In fact, it is foreseeable that many employees would feel powerless or even disappointment when they find out about the huge salary gap between the executive officers’ and theirs. Accordingly, some may leave the company, and others may go on to strike and demand a pay increase. However, those actions hardly are productive nor worthy to do. Therefore, unfair salary systems like this would yield an unhealthy working environment for both employers and employees.

In conclusion, I oppose providing those in managerial roles with obscene amounts of compensation because it can cost the company its prosperity and discourage other employees to work hard. Thus, it is recommended for the company to decide on the salaries of executive officers and general workers by adopting a more motivating salary system.