In many countries, there is shortage of mathematics and science teachers in

high school.

What do you think has caused this problem and what can be done about it?

It is a fact that many nations are facing huge shortfall of teachers, specially for maths and science subjects, to teach high school students. Before providing any solution to this problem, it is imperative to discuss the root cause behind it.

The main reason behind this predicament is that the salary of teachers, those who teach math and science subjects, are very less as compared to other professions. This is to say that the teachers who have expertise in maths and science domain can earn much higher salary in other professions, such as accountant and laboratory technician, as compared to the salaries in school. As a result, people prefer to opt for other technical jobs rather than working as a teacher due to monetary benefits. For instance, as per the recent media report, salary of math and science teachers in India is not revised since last 8 years, which resulted in many teachers opting out of teaching professional and taking other jobs.

The best solution to this issue is to raise the salaries of teachers. The government should come forward and take some unprecedent steps to device policies in favor of salary raise for these teachers. This would attract more people to join back teaching domain. Particularly, if maths and science teacher are getting paid equally to other professions then they world never leave their teaching professional. As a result, the shortfall of teachers can be mitigated by provided appropriate salaries. For example, a similar initiative was taken in Germany during 2007, when they raised the salary of Army staff so that more youngster get started and shortage of fighters can be filled.

To conclude, correctly many nations have scarcity of maths and science teacher in their schools because of less salary structure that is in place. I believe to mitigate the gap between the demand and supply of the required professional government should restructure the compensation for these jobs to entice more people.