Paying all the workers the same salary in a company promotes harmony and respect amongst colleagues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As per the recent media report, 25% of companies in 2015 paid the same salary to all their staff members. It is believed that workers feel more positive and valued if all the employees are paid equally. I strongly agree with this statement and I will discuss my reasons in the following paragraphs.

The main reason why equal pay is helpful to the workers is that it ensures that there is no discrimiination. This is because, sometimes minority and marginalised groups get paid less due to biases and stereotypes. Hence, the same pay package will allow all the people to feel valued. According to a survey conducted by Harvard University, it was found that people reported higher job satisfaction in the organisations where all the staff members have the same pay.

The other factor is that when people are paid the same pay there will be less competition and more team spirit. Since, all the staff members will feel

confident in their skills and capabilities they will not compare their performance with their teammates. Also,this would encourage people to

bond well as a result they will be more helpful to each other. In a research done by the Toronto University, it was found that 8 out of 10 organisations never reported a dispute amongst its staff when they are paid equally.

To conclude, the workers feel happier and appreciated when everyone is paid equally at the workplace. The most important reason for this is that it ends discrimination and also helps workers to develop better bond. I like to work where all the team mates are paid equally as It helps me to feel more confident.