In many countries today crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular Why do you think these TV shows and books are popular What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas

Nowadays, people have started developing an interest in crime novels and TV crime dramas. As a result, they have become very popular in many countries. In my opinion, too much reading and watching crime fiction genre books and TV shows is not appropriate as it may affect our mental health at times.

Crime fiction has become an interest to many people due to several reasons. The primary reason is that it is relatable to real life situations. Many crime novels and TV shows develop stories that touch the emotions of individuals and is drafted in a way that people visualize themselves in those scenarios. As a result, they get completely involved in the story and be keen in knowing the end. Also, people feel that instances shown in the TV shows may happen to them in real life so watching these will create an awareness of how to deal or avoid such situations. These factors contribute to increased interest of crime fiction novels and TV shows among the people.

According to me, watching or reading about crime affects people’s mental health in many ways. Firstly, it creates a lot of negativity in the minds of people as they perceive all situations in their life negatively, for instance, if a neighbor is very friendly or helpful, they would feel that their neighbor wants something from them or is planning to rob them. Also, it develops unnecessary anxiety and fear among people. Moreover, people get superstitious and narrow minded due to fear of being a crime victim. All of these adversely affect the mental health of people and indirectly may even cause several heart-related or mental problems. However, if people watch or read it to a limit, it would not be that harmful.

To conclude, crime fiction novels and TV shows should be read and watched with limitations. Too much involvement in anything is not advisable. One should prefer reading or watching about things that would make one happy rather than those that create fear and vulnerability.