In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

A majority of millennials around the globe are disinterested in news tabloids and television news channels. I opine that technological advancements and the fast-paced lifestyle are the main reason for this. In this essay, I would like to discuss different viewpoints on this incredibly debatable topic.

Cutting edge, technology is the main evil behind youth populations spending long hours with their gadgets. Launching innovative mediums of entertainment has entirely changed the focus of the upcoming generations. For example, teenage boys and girls prefer entertainment such as video games and social media, over serious incidents and the news.

The competitive youth is forced to prioritize only education and professional achievements, leaving them no time for reading or watching any news. Consequently, young individuals of society are unaware of social and global issues. Having said that, a scarce population of youngsters is mostly observed to engage in news related to sports and entertainment. For instance, young minds believe that citizen journalism has become popular and most pieces of news may be unauthentic information. They often express to have linked ‘news’ with ‘negativity’, rather than general knowledge.

A solution to this problem is that reliable sources of news should be promoted on social media platforms appealing to young persons. Mobile applications providing quick news updates, breaking news on official websites of news channels and public installations of screens projecting news is a good example of reaching out to the youthful masses. Furthermore, educational institutions must take an initiative to inculcate good habits of reading the newspaper, as this will even help young students develop their language skills.

In a nutshell, the younger population needs to become aware of the importance and benefits of daily news in our lives. Although negative reports gain vast viewership, a sincere effort should be made in promoting positive pieces of news, to abolish myths pertinent to news always leaving a demotivational impact on people.