Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young

people. What mental and physical problems may arise from excessive use of these games? How

could these problems be reduced?

Wide spread of computer games especially in younger generation, is a major concern in medical practitioners across the globe. According to them a lot of deformities both physical and behavioural can occur if child is obsessed with video games. This essay will outline some of these concerns and highlights possible solutions.

Admittedly, one cannot deny excessive use of these indoor games drive the child to a sedative lifestyle which intern leads him\her to obesity. Inactive lifestyle is major concern among parents, school authorities and pediatricians. It has been proved by many studies that physically active student performs better in studies compared to physically inactive. Moreover, outdoor sports like football etc. not only improve aesthetics of child but also, improve team building and coordination skills which are necessity for his\her future jobs. On the other hand, video games will make him/her secluded and a loner.

Another impact, is on child’s behavior, it has been observed through various studies children suffering from addiction of video games tends to develop a more irritating behavior. Continues mood swings are now categorized under Bipolar disorder by psychiatrists. According to some studies this kind of behavioural traits can have detrimental effects on overall personality of an adolescent. Research shows children suffering Bipolar are either depressed or suffer from anxiety which can led juvenile delinquencies.

One plausible solution, is to increase indulgence of youngsters into physical sports. This can start from school. Educational institution should give more focus on regular sports meets. Sports should be included as integral part of study curriculum. Another convincing solution is that, parents should devote more time to children for example, taking them to park etc. which will not only deviate child’s mind away from video games but also strengthen parent-child relationship.

In the end to sum up, too much use of computer games can drag child to unhealthy lifestyle and poor intrapersonal skills. Parents and teacher can play important role to bring child out of this vicious lifestyle by encouraging pupils to pursue more active pursuits.