Many high school students take part time jobs What are the advantages and disadvantages of this

More and more undergraduate students are opting to work in their spare time. While temporary jobs offer several benefits, the drawbacks of this cannot be ignored. In my opinion, having a reduced job with only four hours a day can be enough for students to not abandon their studies.

The first reason why students take a part-time job is because they can become financially independent, so they don't have to ask for pocket money whenever they are in financial need. The second reason, in working in a reduced work schedule is because they can boost their opportunities of being employed by companies. In a recent report in the European Union, students that were seeking jobs immediately after finishing school had better chance of being employed if they would have previous experience. For this reason a 4 hour part-time job is of a great help for further perspective.

On the other hand, a part-time job can be distractive because students cannot concentrate on their studies while working after school. In addition to that, young students have no money management skills and hence they may end up spending their hard-earned money on useless things. In a survey conducted by e-commerce companies, students were the majority among different age group buyers.

In conclusion, there are both pros and cons in pursuing a part-time job. There are more benefits in working after school, because it can make youngsters financially independent and enables them to get valuable work experience. However, it may distract them from their studies and may even lead to expulsion from university.