Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people.

Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

There is no deny that archaeological sites and old museums provide brief look into history and evidence of by gone era. All over the world there are ample of such places for people to explore but it attracts mostly the tourists and outside explorers and not local folks. This essay will look into few of the issues why people living like in certain proximity do not visit near by historical sites and propose some solutions on making them more pleasing to them.

To begin with, having a close proximity to such sites by people living their makes it less attractive to them. Since, the place is nearer it conceived as a notion that anyone could go anytime in the near future. To tackle this issue, historical welfare society should have a local festival celebrated or a fare should be organised during holiday days this will enhance the value of festival as people would more likely to come and spend quality time at museums or historical sites with families and friends. Hence, combining the local feel with such places could be more lucrative for most of the folks.

Secondly, majority of tourist have limited time and have intend to explore holiday destinations. This motive is unlikely with the people who have been there for long time as they already are aware or visited the monuments and museums. Also, people prefer to go out to new and far away places to have a change from daily routine. To mitigate this problem new additions and changes should be incorporate in old buildings so people would keep on coming to explore even if its local and native to their location.

In conclusion, close proximity and will to explore new places are few of the factors that contribute local people not visiting near by old monuments. Site care-takers play active role in making their sites more appealing to both groups and not just tourists and this issue can be solved by following few of the solutions like by blending local festivals and adding new changes constantly.