Some people believe that everyone should be free to make their own lifestyle choices, even if those choices are unhealthy. Other people think that the government should intervene to influence people’s choices, for example by putting high taxes on unhealthy products.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

There is no deny that privilege to make individual decision is right of anybody even though they could have negative implications. Few folks in the masses argue that people in authority can influence the poor lifestyle choices by taking certain measures. In this essay we will look into both side of the argument and put forward my views why government should not interfere with people's choices.

To begin with, imposing higher taxes on product such as sugar-rich contents such as soda, fat-rich items as fast food will impact economy negatively. Low-income family groups will not be able to afford any of such items and the bracket of society which could buy will be buderned with extra amount. As a result, people would turn to other unhealthy products such as artificial juices which are still as sugary and can cause obesity with concomitant high-blood pressure, diabetes. Policymakers can rather focus on coming up with unique ideas to make people aware about side-effects of suffering due to their decisions.

On the other hand, personal responsibility lies with area of any individual. No one alone, should be held when a human being make bad choices. On the contrary, if these decisions did done for people then we would not be living a democratic and free society. For instance, in North Korea the regime have too much power and takes major decision for all the citizens of the country and they have no freedom to make decisions. Privacy is no longer a option. This is wrong cause basic freedom is right of any person. Hence, I believe government should not interfere with people's life.

In conclusion, although there are many side-effects of an individual's decisions, government should not impose their opinions on general public. In my opinion, it can be tackle by making people more aware and educated by campaigns of benefits of healthy choices.