Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

It is true that do overtime is more common to many people in today’s society. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon, which is having a significant impact on both family life and on the community as a whole.

There are two primary reasons why workers tend to work long hours. One reason is that they can have more job prospects, particularly higher positions and better payments. Since they have dedicated all their time and effort to work, employers will notice and they will eventually be given promotions with a greater amount of salary. For example, a college grad who ready to put all her time and energy into finishing tasks will probably impress bosses with their performances. Therefore, they can be promoted sooner than other staff. Furthermore, nowadays, daily expenses of a family has been rising day-by-day, such as the money spent on groceries, petroleum and so on. In this context, it is hard for a man to run a family with a single job or regular working hours so they are forced to work more.

However, this trend could have some negative consequences in terms of both individuals' lives and the public. An important concern for having long working hours is the decline of the physical and mental health of these corporate employees. This is due to the fact that working overtime can lead to a lack of sufficient rest, decrease in energy and also health conditions in extreme cases. Another adverse effect is that it damages their relationships with others. Such an exhausting schedule still intrudes far enough into the private life of these workers or other social connections.

In conclusion, there are various reasons for evolving into a longer and more gruelling work schedule. As a result, there could be negative influences on individual families and society at large.