Many people believe that having a fix punishment for all crime is more efficient.

What are the advantage and disadvantages of having a fix punishment?

Most of the individuals think that it is better to punish the criminal with an equal value in sentences. I totally and strongly disagree with this view because justice is not to mean equality, but, in this essay we just discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this opinion.

As one of the cons of fix punishment, People are different and have several behavior and beliefs. So consider about the difference between people and their situation lead to having several flexible punishments. For instance, a woman who robs some stuff in a supermarket for her children because of starvation should be considered as a criminal who committed crime intentionally or committed the minor offence as the comparison with a murderer who kills someone because of earning money. One of the pros of flexible punishment is that the influences of the crime have been emphasized. Each crime has its own reflection and affects victim differently, therefore, it is essential to have different punishment for different crimes. For example, the murderer punishment undoubtedly should be higher than shop robbery; hence, the effect of killing someone is irrecoverable and it is not fair to punish the murderer as the same as other criminal such as a robber.

The benefit of the fix sentences is to make the judge much easier. It just needs to write down a law about crimes punishment and the court just run out the sentence. Judge need to focus on finding the guilty persons and after that, it is the time to punish them surely and independently. As an illustration, when a person kills someone no matter the murderer was mentally ill or not, he/she should have maximum punishment and discrimination is not allowed.

In conclusion, most of the people considered that it would be fair if the entire criminal has an equal punishment without thinking about what was the crime exactly. We debate pros and cons above and give some examples.