Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient.What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

Humans have created human like robots, but yet humans remain humans. Unlike the digital robots, who have a fixed yes or a no; a high bit or a low bit; human behavior is quite complicated. More importantly, the situations humans put themselves into are usually multi-faced. With apropos of this fact, I believe having a fixed punishment for a particular crime, could be unjustified in most of the cases.

Most of the people argue that a crime is a crime and must be punished with full severity, there are always multiple cases to it. For example-: a murder done in self defense cannot be regarded similar to the one done with cruel intentions. Therefore, giving a life imprisonment in both the cases could be unfair to the former. The next important thing to be taken into consideration is the mental condition of an individual committing a crime. For example-: consider a person who gets violent on seeing fire, sees someone lighting the gas and hits him/her. On the other hand, consider someone who out of ulterior motives hits someone. Rather than giving treatment to the former, if a fixed punishment is given, it will only worsen the situation.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that we live in a corrupt society and the criminals have become more intelligent. Keeping loop holes in punishments help criminals to mold the law in their favor. For example-: a person can claim to be mentally unfit in front of law to get away with the punishment. Even more, often the lawyers and the individuals, for money, change the circumstances in which the crime took place.

Overall, it can be said that fixing a punishment for a crime could be disadvantageous for people who deserve a second call. To overcome the side effects of providing the loop holes, the law must be strengthened and provisions must be made to ensure people are not misusing the law for their own benefits.