Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment

It is undeniably true that since time immemorial different forms of detentions has used to punish offenders who are involved in a variety of crimes including ma-slaughter, arson, and armed-robber. While social experts are of the opinion that punishments should be based on the severity of the offense, quite a few arguing punishments should be the same for all of those who committed. The following paragraphs would shed light on both the merits and demerits.

Having a similar kind of penalizing would bring a couple of pros to society. Without a doubt, the most obvious advantage is that dwellers not only aware of criminal laws impose by the government but also believe that law is a law for all irrespective of kind of the misdeeds they committed. Thus, it would reduce the crime rate in any country. In addition to it, having fixed retribution for any violation would create a sophisticated platform for law bureaucrats because it would be easy for them to punish criminals quickly. As a result of this, felonies could be brought to justice without any delay.

However, the negative aspects of this practice need to be mentioned. The first thing to highlight is that it would be a complete injustice. To exemplify it, having the same law either for a small robbery or for a bank robbery would be unfair and it would have an adverse effect on people's mindset. As a result of this, there could be a rebellion from the citizens which would eventually create more criminals. It is also worth pointing out that, an offense without a motive would have to deal with kindness rather than punishing as a serious crime.

To recapitulate, this trend can have both positive and negative consequences. Although it has few merits such as awareness on law, faster growth in punishment, it has few drawbacks including rebellion.