Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment. How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media?

Violence in society is an extremely controversial issue today. Some think that aggressive behavior is becoming more and more because of the rising amount of violent content in media, while others argue that the growth in violence conduct comes from social issues like the lack of work, joblessness. In other words, opinions are divided as to whether the tendency of aggressive behavior is based on media or social issues, I honestly think that the fundamental issues are indeed the root cause for violence and media just plays a small part.

It is not a coincidence that violence is increasing in countries where the unemployment rate has gradually increased. While economic stagnation has dramatically proceeded, arranging basic necessities for survival becomes a challenge for person have no income. Those who have lost everything are tend to commit violence and threaten not only their family, environment but also the peace of society.

Firstly, the unemployment disappears the self-confidence among people who don’t work. Those people, according to researches, especially men can show this through the violence in his family. Violence in family, violence against women and children have raised because of joblessness. As understood, unemployment has dynamics that will affect the core structure of society, family, and then the peace of society.

Secondly, As women and children suffer from the violence in family, society can face the devastating effect of unemployment on peace. For example, Nigeria, one of the countries with highest unemployment rate, fights against terrorism. The members of Bako Harram, the terrorist group, are generally uneducated and unemployment people. If government established well planned education system and allocated its budget to create new work areas, Nigerian people would receive an education and have a job so terrorist group would have difficulty finding members.

I cannot say that I agree with the violence has increased through television and media. Individuals may be affected by the content of violent films but it does not provide the component evidence for the view that films will causes the raise of violence. In addition, if media or television brought about the tendency of aggression, the U.S.A would suffer from the spread of violence in society because violent films are predominantly made in America.

To sum up, although the violence through media may affect the people individually, there is no fact to say that media may cause the violence in whole society. I believe that fundamental problems outweigh the effect of media on rising level of violence. If we want to disappear the violence in society, we can take an attention to education and create new working areas.