Many people believe that inherent talent is more important than practice in many fields like sport or music. According to them great musicians and sportsmen are born and can’t be created. However, others claim that talent has little to do with success and any child can be taught to become a great sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Innate gifts and hard work are two sides of the same coin. A part of the populace believes that few have an inborn understanding of certain skills in sectors such as arts or athletics. However, others opine that children can be imbibed with the know-how to become a great athlete or artist.

On one hand, people believe that people are born with gifts such as creativity and technical knowledge in their craft such as music or sport. This could be due to the sheer brilliance that some of the great achievers have showcased in their respective sectors. It could also be attributed to the fact that they have been consistent in accumulating several accolades over a period of time.

On the other hand, many people around the globe have attained immense success because of extreme hard work put in by them and their mentors. It has also been noticed that these individuals put in have rigorously invested a large amount of time to understand and assimilate the intricacies of their field. Their dedication and motivation have transformed them into immaculate and aggressive players who quickly grasp the nuances of their passion.

In my opinion, the best in the fields are not always born a star with talents. Some people are coached to sharpen their already existing skills whereas others were tutored to work harder to use their passion to achieve an excellent skill level. For instance, it has also been seen in multiple areas, at multiple occasions that a hardworking musician is more revered and well-known that a purely gifted one.

In conclusion, talent and hard work are not mutually exclusive. On the surface, it would seem as though having an innate talent is the only factor to achieve success and reach the top of their field. However, even the gifted need to achieve incredible mastery of their gift.