Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English. Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so how?

English is an international language and has become a necessity in the last century due to colonization and globalization. In the past, knowledge was given more importance that the method or language in which it is imparted. In the last few decades, English has justifiably gained immense popularity in educational institutions and society. However, many argue that this is resulting in fewer people learning regional languages and it might eventually be forgotten.

I believe that English has become a crucial language all over the world and it imperative to learn, understand and speak English fluently. For instance, most businesses aspire to be a multi-national enterprise in their future. This requires English knowledge for important negotiations and meetings. Additionally, I think this is the reason why most children are trying to be part of schools where English is the medium of education.

English, especially in developing countries with multiple regional languages is directly associated with knowledge and literacy. Having said that, regional languages must be safeguarded as it holds traditional, cultural and historic value to the people of that region. Furthermore, regional languages create a sense of kinship among people in today's global and diverse setting. For example, international students are encouraged to speak to others from their country from time to time as an attempt to curb home-sickness and promote a sense of belonging to a community.

Regional languages and their importance should be taught in school and other institutions. Organizations could give additional importance to multi-lingual and bi-lingual candidates as they understand several cultures and might be more adaptable employees.

In conclusion, learning English and regional languages should not be mutually exclusive. One could learn English and then understand local languages using English.