Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

english is the second most spoken language in the world, making it an important tongue to learn. learning mother tongue at school is not given much of an importance than, that for learning english. it is thought by some that, if a person do not know an english language he may loose his importance in the society. I think knowing a popular language is must in this competitive world, however teaching of local language should not be neglected, and should be given equal importance. In this essay i will discuss the importance of both english and local language and what can be done to maintain the native language as a curriculum in school.

In this modern world where there is a lot of competition going on to reach to a position, communication skill plays a very major role. it may be at an eduction level or at professional level, knowing a most spoken language i.e english, is of utmost importance.

At school level students often go for a debate competition, essay speaking competition, etc, which are mainly held in english language. so to face such kind of event and to win, one should know the language properly. also, at professional level there are many presentations or conference meeting are held regularly which are at international levels, making english language a source of communication. so in this society in order to be t a good position, one should definately know english thoroughly.

Although, learning of local language should also be given equal importance. With local language one preserves their local culture, which should not be lost in learning other things. one thing that can be done in schools to do that is, they can organize debate competition in local language, by this the importance can be preserved.

learning an english language is definately beneficial for surving in this world, however the importance of one's culture is know by learning that cultures language which cannot be ignored.