Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Modern technology has taken over everyone around this world. Every new development and progress made so far has impacted people in desirable and undesirable ways. Social media has deeply entrenched the society and people in a pessimistic manner. I completely agree that networking websites have resulted in more adverse effects in our surroundings.

Firstly, social websites have taken control of people's life. Half of the content on these is either fake or manipulated. The most affected age group is youth and the teenagers as they have lost interest in their studies. Behavioral changes like stubbornness, rebel attitude, rude, misbehaving with parents and adults; who want them to concentrate on activities which are helpful for them. For example; teenagers follow bloggers and vloggers blindly and want to imitate them, dress like them, to buy things they showoff; but they do not realize that real life is far different from videos and pictures posted on Instagram, youtube or facebook. Secondly, people start comparing their lives with their friends, acquaintances etc. who pubilicze their personal lives on media; which might lead to social and peer pressure.

Furthermore, the privacy of a person using these apps is at a risk because, while downloading it can access all details from phones, tablets, iPad etc. Anyone can save photographs, videos from profiles and misuse it. For example; there are numerous cases in which girls are threatened by the opposite gender for revealing personal information. This breach of privacy does not affect a single person, rather the negative influence comes on whole family as well as society. Lastly, it has been observed that too much use of social networking has created face to face communication problems. People are so busy in updating their current statuses in media that they are missing the real essence of happiness.

To conclude, technology should be used in an appropriate manner; excess results in ugly consequences. Impact of excessive social networking might not be visible in the near future but in long-term, this is detrimental for society as well as for people.