Many people believe that university students should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

Universities and Educational institutes are considered to be the citadel for building successful future. There are many denizens who believe that the university students should study a wide variety of subjects however, there are some who believe that only few and specific subjects must be taught. Whether the universities should include a wide range of subjects or few paramount subjects? This will be discussed further in this essay.

Many people have an opinion that colleges and universities should include wide number of subjects like sports, physical education, arts and so on in its curriculum, as, it will help the students to rid themselves from the constant pressure and in turn improve their performance. Furthermore, in the today’s competitive world most companies want their employees to be multifaceted. For instance, a bank accountant is not only expected to have expertise in field like accountancy, tax but also have knowledge about communication, management, customer queries handling so that they can do multiple administrative obligations effectively. Through teaching a wide range of subjects to the disciple’s, academic universities will help them to build a successful future, as, it will be both personally fulfilling and skill enhancing.

On the contrary, the universities ' main goal is to transmit specialized cognizance and not to improve merely their general knowledge in order to gain good job opportunities relevant to their abilities. Making students needlessly stress for studying topics irrelevant to their profession will be an obstacle to reaching their future goals. For instance, if it will be obligatory for medical students to learn subjects like management, communication, leadership which is not related to their course, it will not be beneficial to them in any way. Moreover, the average universities have more than 30 departments, which are intended to specialise the students in determined expertness and not to make Jack of all trade only to provide mediocre professionals, besides it will be infeasible for the academic institutes to finish the entire course if irrelevant subjects are included.

To conclude, a university’s prime responsibility should be to provide specialised training to students in their desired field of interest. Due to this, emphasis should be given to only focus on relevant subjects as by including non-core subjects, the very meaning and purpose of university education gets diluted.