Many people nowadays tend to marry and have children in their thirties rather than at a younger age.

Is this a positive or negative development?

At the present day, it became mainstream to get married and give birth to children after reaching thirty years old in comparison with the past when the general public had a tendency to create families at an earlier age. From my perspective, it can be considered as favorable changes because in their mid-thirties people have a stable income and a built-up career that let them provide a decent upbringing for their children.

First, persons in their mid-twenties are not ready enough to take care of a child due to the fact that at this age they are at the beginning of the corporate ladder and as a rule, a job demands their full dedication. In addition, wages at the beginning of the career are relatively low and it might be significantly difficult to pay rent or mortgage and cover expenses on a child. For example, in some countries after graduation, young professionals have huge educational debts and it is not feasible for them to get into marriage and take extra responsibilities.

Second, people being financially stable in their thirties are also grown-up in terms of psychology and totally aware of their desires and needs. As a result, their marriages are more successful in comparison with early marriages in which divorce rates are significantly higher. For instance, my elder brother got married and consumed a child at the age of 21 years old and today he and his wife are struggling to save their marriage for the child’s sake.

In conclusion, having got married and offspring in the third decade of life is a positive step forward due to the reason that individuals of this age are more financially and psychologically ready to carry a burden of extra responsibilities such as having a spouse and a child.