When a person spends most of his or her time working a job with little job satisfaction, their life loses meaning.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that spending the whole day long 6 days a week at work, which does not bring us any satisfaction, affects our purpose of life. I somehow agree with this opinion because work occupies a significant amount of time and if somebody feels unhappy during it, almost their whole life is spent in misery.

First, it is true that the most enjoyable moments of our lives are spent with our friends and families. However, our occupation and time spent at work plays a great part in our well-being and sense of fulfillment from life. For instance, if a person works at a daunting and unaspiring job at the end of the day they will feel completely drained and they will not have enough energy for an active life apart from their job. Thus, it is hugely important that work is rewarding and brings a sense of satisfaction.

Nevertheless, the sense of meaningful life depends on a person’s outlook on life. Some people approach life as a positive experience, while others as a negative one. That is why those who have a positive outlook on life always have goals and plans for a future even if work does not give satisfaction to them. In contrast, pessimistic people even having a rewarding job can feel frustration and emptiness of life. For instance, one of my friends always complained about her job and lack of purpose in life but after a course with a psychologist, she realized that she has a well-paid job that makes it possible to purchase whatever she wants and travel and she is satisfied now.

In conclusion, I agree that work is very important for our sense of fulfillment in our lives. However, it is not one only factor because a person's state of mind contributes to it as well.