Many families move to different countries. Some people think children can benefit from this, while others consider it is hard for children if families move to a foreign country. Discuss both views and your opinion.

It is true that nowadays plenty of people change their place of residence and settle abroad. It is considered by some individuals that resettlement is an advantage for children; while others claim that it is difficult for them to immigrate. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument then I will give my own opinion.

On one side of the argument, there are those who claim that immigration to a foreign country is beneficial for children. This is because moving to another country demands a child to learn a new language, which is beneficial for the development of the brain in terms of neuroplasticity. In addition, it is known that a bilingual person has a number of advantages in comparison with a person who speaks only a single language. Thus, youngsters learning a foreign language improves their memory and enhances their decision-making ability, as well as their multitasking ability. Studies show that the benefits of learning a new language include higher scores on standardized exams in math, reading comprehension, and vocabulary by multilingual students compared to the scores of monolingual students.

On the contrary, opponents may argue that moving abroad will bring the youth to a totally different environment: a new school or a kindergarten, requirement to study a foreign language, lack of friends, a new house, and changed behavior of the parents due to the adaptation process. It goes without saying that a child will probably struggle with establishing connections with peers because of different cultural backgrounds and misunderstandings. In addition, overall performance in a school declines as a child will not understand a specific subject language. As a result, the youngsters may feel left behind and overwhelmed by the circumstances and parents may not be able to resolve them effectively.

In conclusion, I think that both sides have their arguments. On balance, however, I believe that the positive consequences of immigration significantly outweigh the negative ones. Moreover, any upcoming difficulties can be solved and it just demands some readiness from parents and from children as well.