Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an opinion that authorities are on duty to take care of citizens’ health nationwide. However, there are people who believe that it is a matter of personal liability. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and then give my own opinion on the matter.

From the one side are those who support the idea that the government’s policies on public health are more important than the personal responsibility of the individuals. They would probably claim that some health issues, especially pandemic situations could not be solved by the efforts of one person and there is a place when governments should step up. For example, infectious diseases like cholera needed to be combated through collective measures, usually undertaken by the state, such as the construction of sewers and the provision of clean water.

However, opponents of the notion mentioned above argue that society should not deny the fact that behaviour of individuals in terms of their own health and hygiene plays a significant role in public health. This is because many diseases, especially chronic ones are associated with the habits of a particular person. For instance, smoking is related to lung cancer and cardiovascular disease. Thus, every citizen has to be in charge of his own physical state and take measures helping them to maintain it such as following a healthy lifestyle including a nutrients enriched diet and physical activity.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their merits. On balance, however, I consider that the government should be in charge of the effective functioning of the healthcare system and provide decent medical service for all social groups. Meanwhile, taking crucial and vital decisions related to the personal health of a citizen is the ultimate responsibility of every individual himself.