Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued by many that government is solely responsible to maintain public health, as for others, it is their individual responsibility to maintain own health. The essay agrees upon the fact that it is the responsibility of individuals for maintaining their health. The essay will discuss both sides, how government is responsible for maintaining public health, followed by the individual responsibility to maintain health.

First of all, the government spends substantial amount of their budget towards public health, which is evident while organizing various campaigns to aware the general mass how to fight and prevent diseases such as malaria and AIDS .They also conduct workshops, not only to make the public aware, but to provide them with subsidized medicines and vaccinations. An example of government involvement to maintain public health is organizing Polio booth camps to provide the new-born babies with polio vaccinations to keep them healthy while growing.

However, to maintain health, it falls more into the individual responsibility of a person. People should be self dependent in order to maintain their health, which can be done by practicing yoga and other forms of exercise daily. They should also be cautious enough about their diet, which plays a pivotal role in their health. As an example, my grandfather walk every morning to inhale fresh air and consume high calorie vegetables in lunch which keeps him healthy and active.

To conclude, although government has a role in maintaining public health, it falls more under the individual responsibility to maintain it properly. It is the responsibility of people to follow the above mentioned ways to stay healthy, and thus in my opinion, the later side is more important.