Some people think hosting an international sporting event is beneficial for a country while others disagree (advantages, disadvantages)

There are those who assume that conducting international competitions is lucrative for a hosting country. However, their opponents argue that it is not the case. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and then I will give my own opinion on the matter.

From one side, there are a number of pros for the nation which holds a significant sporting event with participants from foreign countries. First, hosting this kind of event boosts the local economy, in terms of growing tourism in particular. Thus, numerous people become aware about the country and its attractions. As a result, a significant number of finances will flow to the national budget. Second, construction of new infrastructure, stadiums and hotels in preparation for the event will create thousands of working places for locals.

Nevertheless, above mentioned construction will lay a financial burden on the local budget and definitely affect local citizens as finances are not limitless and probably some socially significant projects will not be funded as a result. In addition, practice has shown that gigantic buildings of constructed sport complexes as rule had no further usage except of the international sporting event. Consequently, they will either fall into despair or consume a considerable part of the budget for maintenance.

In conclusion, having considered both sides of the argument I assume both sides have their merits. On balance, however, I believe that the subject of hosting a significant international sporting event should be thoroughly examined and planned for each country in particular. Whether will it be justified or not?