Many people think the students should be allowed to choose the subjects that they study in school, whereas others feel that they should study a set curriculum.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether students should have the freedom to choose the subjects they want to study in schools or they have to follow fixed curriculum. While there are some benefits for unifying the subjects across all students, I believe that having flexibility in choosing subjects is more beneficial.

Form an overall perspective, there are variety of reasons why people believe that students should choose what they would like to study. Perhaps the main reason why people in favour of this idea is because students will be more interested in the coursework if they have chosen their subjects. If a student is interested in a subject, he would in all likelihood perform better that expected. However, if he is studying a subject that he hates, most probably he will get bored, unmotivated and even depresses.

Second vital reason is, (Secondly) students who are forced to attend classes of subject they do not like may disrupt/disturb/distract their classmates who are interested in the subject. Therefore, the decision as to whether students should choose their own subjects must be taken in the context of the whole educational ecosystem.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that students should not be allowed to choose what they want to study. Perhaps the main argument in support of this idea is that some subject are fundamental and cannot be left optional. For example, basic mathematics subject is necessary/essential for all students. If a student does not know how to do basic calculations he will struggle for the rest of his live and this in turn leads to psychological problems such as anxiety or depression.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students should be given some control over what they would like to study because this would encourage them to be more independent in their studies and they would enjoy their lessons more. However, the essential subjects should be compulsory part of the curriculum of all students.