Many people today are choosing to live and work in another country after graduating from university in their home country. Why is this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Moving abroad after university education is becoming increasingly popular. There are certainly some benefits for those who decide to do so. Nevertheless, there are some possible drawbacks associated with this trend. I believe that the negative effects in home countries are too serious to justify the positive aspects on the individual level.

People immigrate to developed countries for various reasons, the most important of which might be related to the better quality of life, and broadened horizons. With regard to the former, most of the foreign countries have warmer climates, advanced healthcare systems and more job opportunities, which make these countries a better place to live. The opportunity to meet people from different cultural backgrounds and to learn a foreign language might be another factor for youngsters to settle overseas as well as making them more rounded as a person.

Despite having the above-mentioned advantages, there are some adverse implications in relation to the shortage of skilled workers and the loss of young talent. As people move overseas, their home countries lose their brightest and most dynamic citizens. Not only would this affect the economy of any nation, but it would also affect future generations. Finally, this potential effect in various fields of science and that of medicine would restrict the overall development of any nation, thus making the matter worst.

In conclusion, although there are definitely some compelling reasons and benefits in terms of personal growth to move abroad, I personally think that the national-level disadvantages of losing potential citizens are more severe to support the possible advantages.