Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether climate change should be prevented, or whether methods should be discovered to cope with it. I believe that the former should be the case, and the focus should be on finding out the ways to avert this pattern rather than to live with it.

Although it is a widely held belief that new techniques should be invented to get along with the changing climate, in practice, doing so, would be a short-term solution. This is due to the fact that most of these techniques, which enable the human race to live with the changing environment, have future repercussions. The evidence for this can be seen in the use of modern electronic devices, such as air conditioners and central heating units, to control the indoor temperature during extreme weather conditions. Though the use of these devices provides relief in the current scenario, the harmful gases released by these would contribute more to the environmental damage in the near future.

Having said that, instead of looking for solutions to survive with changing atmospheric patterns, strategies to stop the harmful environmental effects should be taken under consideration. The reason for this is that if appropriate steps are not taken on time to control the atmosphere situation now, then it would have unprecedented devastating effects. This also means that the ignorance of climate change is a threat to biodiversity on planet earth. For these reasons, the ultimate goal should be to develop technologies that are environmentally friendly rather than those which provide benefits, which are short-lived and have adverse future implications.

In conclusion, I disagree with this proposition that new methods should be explored to live with climate change. On the contrary, the objective should be to find out the ways to avoid environmental change.