In many places new homes are needed but the only space available for building them is in the countryside Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there What is your opinion

The housing problem has always been a concern in many places because of less supply of housing. On the one hand, people think that the development of suburbs can alleviate the housing problem. On the other hand, the environment will be damaged when developing suburbs and they are committed to preserving suburbs

Everyone agrees on the existence of a food chain in ecology and this food chain is affected by every move of the environment. For an instance, birds build their nests on trees and eat earthworms that live in the soil. The development of suburban areas will lead to the deforestation of a large number of trees, meanwhile, the soil will be turned into concrete roads. As a result, birds will lose their habitat and foraging places, which will cause an amount of birds’ death and accelerate the extinction of some precious birds.

Besides nature being affected, humans are also affected if many trees are removed. Trees not only are oxygen generators that the leaves can absorb carbon dioxide and convert it into oxygen to purify the air. Also, they are dust filters as the wind speed decreases when the dust-laden airflow passes through the woods. As well as some trees have hairy cuticles or can secrete oil to hold dust on them. The soot and dust emitted by industrial development seriously pollute the air. If there are no trees, it will threaten human health.

In my opinion, it is understandable if there is a real shortage of housing and development land is needed, however, what the society reflects is that the population has decreased significantly, but housing is still insufficient. What the government needs is to find out why there is a shortage of housing.