In many places shopping is becoming a free-time activity, replacing the traditional hobbies of the past. Discuss the reasons for the development. Is this development positive or negative?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example for your own knowledge or experience.

Shopping means buying goods of daily requirement as well as things that one need but nowadays, it has become a spare-time activity in various locations and overcome the custom hobbies of previous times. There are plethora of reasons for this change and In my opinion, I believe that increase in this trend has bad impact.

The predominant reason for advancement of leisure-time activity that is shopping is due to development of technology, lady's most of the work has been done by machines for example, use of washing machine, dish washer, vacum cleaner and list goes on. So, on weekends they get bored while sitting at home and preferred to go for shopping to change their mood. Moreover, Today's lifestyle is very busy and hectic, so people go for window shopping in order to relieve their stress.

On the other hand, doing shopping in excess has negative effects because whenever, individuals go out for shopping, they buy things which attract their eyes although those goods are not useful for them. So, this lead to wastage of money. Beside that in ancient times, our ancestors had skills to make different things by their own for illustration, stitched their own clothes, made pots for decoration, turned waste material to useful things like pen stand etcetera. But now, such skills get vanished due to increase in shopping and individuals do not remain in touch with their roots.

In conclusion, I would like to say that shopping has both merits and demerits. People should prepare a list of things they need before going for shopping so that they could buy goods that they want. In addition to it, they should learn skills and make them as their hobbies so that they can make things which they required by their own such as paintings to decorate their houses. Well, It all depends on individuals, how they can save their money as well as time.