Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local community? How could this situation be improved?

These days, Many small businesses are getting out of business as they are unable to compete with large super markets.Local shopkeepers take big loans from banks to set up their business but unfortunately do not earn much profit as large supermarkets thus become bankrupts, which further demands closing of business. In this essay, I will examine various affects of this scenario. Further I will suggest some solutions to improve this situation.

This scenario effects the local community adversely. One of the major negative impact is that there is ' Increase in Income Gap'. Rich men's are becoming richer while the poor people are becoming more poor. This huge gap in income further leads to many social evils like discrimination, social crimes.

Another negative effect of large supermarkets swallowing small local shops is that it leads to unemployment. Although, these small markets do not employ large number of staff, but if taken collectively it is a big number of people including helpers, cleaners, wait staff and so on. For an instance, students prefer to work in local shops because of less burden but when these shops get out of business, it left these students unemployed as large supermarkets employ experienced staff.

However, there are many preventive measure that could be taken to improve this situation. First of all the local government should provide tax rebate to small businessmen's. This will not increase their profit income but also encourage them to trade their products at cheaper rate thus alluring more customers. For an example, people prefer to buy from army canteens as the products sold there are free from state taxes thus offer great benefits to buyers. Same way if the local shopkeepers sell their goods and services in cheaper prices than they would definitely grow and compete with large supermarkets.

Another significant measure that could make small businessmen compatible to large supermarkets is advertising. Through local advertisements, there small shops could remark their presence in the community. Also, these shopkeepers should offer coupons and discounts via online marketing which would attract more customers thus, would expand their sales.

In conclusion, There would be numerous negative impacts of small business being swallowed by large business such as income gap and unemployment. Fortunately, preventive actions such as government assistance in terms of tax rebate and decent advertisements by the shopkeepers would reduce this problem largely.