Many sports players advertise sports-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is a fact that most of the star athletes advertise diverse sports-related products. There are a couple of advantages such as job creation and encouragement to youths, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into consideration.

Firstly, one benefit of sports star advertising vivid products related to their profession is it helps to create jobs. In other words, many people buy products that are endorsed by renowned sports personality which helps to increase sales; thereby, creating employment. For example, according to a recent survey in western India by the famous retail chain, most of the youths and teenagers purchase the similar brand and colour that has been advertised at Television by their favourite sports star. Secondly, sportspeople advertising sports-related products are advantageous because it encourages individuals to indulge in active lifestyle. To be precise, sports personalities endorse their products by exposing their different skills and qualities, which encourages young people to imitate them.

On the other hand, one problem with sports star in advertising various sports brand is that sometimes athletes become so much involved in such adverts that their attention is diverted from their game. This is because sports star starts giving more priority to such advertisements rather than practising or attending important sessions of their game. Another issue is that children, in order to purchase the same product, put undue pressure on their parents. Adolescents are unaware of the true face of advertisements and force their parents to owe the advertised product. For example, recently there was an article in Times of India mentioned that a couple in northern India was under too much stress and have to work over-time in order to satisfy their child's wish to purchase the similar product that was advertised by Virat Kholi, a renowned Indian cricketer.

In conclusion, while individuals can benefit from sports personality advertising sports-related products, it can also lead to disturbance in sports player's profession and forceful pressure on parents by their child.