To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, countries should make use of genetically engineered foods. However, some people believe that GM foods are not only unhealthy but affect nature also. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether the production and consumption of genetically modified food meet the growing demand for food for the increasing human population, or whether it has an adverse impact on their health and environment. I believe that the effect on health and nature is more severe than the other benefits of production.

It is a widely held belief that GM food items are advantageous in terms of production in the current time when there is a global food shortage. This is due to the fact that the DNA structure of such crops is modified in such a way that makes them pest and disease resistant. That is how the bioengineered crops yield more than the traditional organic crops. In addition to this, it is also claimed that the shelf life of food is increased with genes modification and it can be stored for a longer period than organic food that has to be consumed relatively soon after the purchase because of the fear of going bad. This is for the benefits of both farmers and consumers as they can store the food for more duration now.

In contrast, GM crops pose certain threats to human health and the ecosystem. With regard to health, it has been seen that the use of herbicides and pesticides in production causes allergic reactions to certain people and are carcinogenic. Even some scientists fear that consuming GM food may have an impact on human DNA and hormones as well. As far as nature is concerned, although the spray of roundups may cause no harm to crops but impacts the soil quality and chemical sippage to nearby water bodies contaminate the water resources. The evidence of this can bee seen in the recent survey carried out by agronomists on GM food and as per the analysis, it was clear that the majority of the water contamination is due to the use of these harmful chemicals on such crops. The impact of the chemicals used to alter the genes is also seen on pollinators, such as bees and butterflies, who often pollinate in the fields.

In conclusion, although GM crops pave the way to produce more food to satisfy the dietary need of the growing population, it has adverse ramifications on human physical health and environment. Therefore, in my opinion, the production and consumption of GM food are dangerous for our wellbeing and ecosystem.