Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

Nowadays, young people are having health problems that used to be more common among adults, such as high bloody pressure, depression, anxiety and, even more often, obesity. I understand that these issues have specific causes that need to be threated in order to offer sollutions for the future generation’s health.

Firstly, it is very important to point the responsible for a large portion of this problem, the parents. Over the past years, with the intensification of the globalized world, the new generation have absent parents who are frequently busy to offer the required attention in terms of preparation of balanced meals. Kids are taking the easiest way to eat, by having fast food, which is widely known as the worst example of nutritional meals, with high levels of calories and fat.

In addition, modern children are not having the same interest in free time as in the past. In fact, they are turning into lazy and addicted human being, spending many hours in front of computers, video games and eletronic devices rather than practicing physical activities for body compensation and keeping fit. Besides, physical activities help not only the body, but also the mind, which can avoid future diseases and help on quality of life.

To sum up, I believe that is extremely important to change these habits and create a new life style routine. Children need to learn how to make assertive choices regarding alimentation and physical conditioning. One solution would be picking a favourite sport, for example, tennis, soccer, basketball and making it part of their routine, practicing it weekly and changing their health condition. Therefore, obesity and so many other diseases would be avoided and the next generation has the chance to have a better life.