In modern society, many people think primary schools should teach science and technology rather than history and geography, which are useless and boring.Do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant exa

The matter of the fact is that modem society expects its students and prospective professionals with an all-round pool of knowledge and skills. The topic statement clearly plays favourite with sciences while belittling liberal arts, which, in my view, is biased and misleading, and may also cause negative influences among students.

Those people who advocate that only science and technology subjects should be taught at school are ignorant of what knowledge is composed of. They fail to understand the relationships between different subjects and their mutual overlap; they only see the individual trees in the forest, rather than the forest as a whole. A student cannot learn science well without a basic knowledge of human evolution and scientific history. In order to learn technology well, a student must start from the very basics of geography that deals with the interaction of the diverse physical, biological and cultural features of the earth's surface.

Furthermore, I feel that those people may indeed be somewhat short-sighted as they see nothing but the possible commercial benefits that science and technology products could generate. It is true that state-of-the-art devices are an important part of our lives, but this should not mean that the achievements of other subjects are brushed aside. A society needs well-educated people in all fields, including history, geography, and many others like arts and music. They are equally important as sciences, and all play a significant and expansive role in the society.

In the final analysis, the primary school is a seat of learning to develop intelligence and talents. There should not be any prejudice at all towards a series of subjects offered.