Money should be spent on creating new public buildings such as museums or town halls rather than renovating the existing ones.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that funds should be spent on constructing new buildings instead of restoring the older constructions. I firmly disagree to this notion as such steps can be a burden on the financial budget of a government. Additionally, it can be a major set back for the tourism industry. In this essay, I will espouse to this view with relevant examples in support of my argument.

To commence with, construction of new structures such as museums, townhalls, and clock towers are rather expensive and it can affect the financial planning of a government. Nowadays, construction involves technology and heavy use of machinery along with human efforts which will make the project a costly affair. For example, a survey carried out by the Punjab Government reveals that creation of new museum in Chandigarh is ten times expensive than the budget allocated for the refurbishment of the old museum. Moreover, these resources can be utilized for providing the other facilities to society such as schools, hospitals and parks instead of new construction. Therefore, such constructions is a huge expense and impact the financial planning.

Furthermore, the historical value associated with such buildings made them an attractive site for the visitors. These constructions interest them because of their age old heritage which they more likely to see in their original form. If the renovation of these sites is not maintained, tourist will no longer enthusiastic about them. For Instance, the Delhi Tourism Ministry has lost half of their revenue last year due to the lack of restoration of Red Fort. Hence, the slow down in tourism sector will be inevitable.

In Conclusion, building new structures involves high cost and preservation of historical places is imperative to gain the attention of travellers. So, I believe that renovation of ancient sites make more sense.