Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. While other people think that taking part in individual sports is better, like tennis or swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Playing sports is the key to good health. A section of society advocate that games played in teams, such as football, have more benefits whereas others have strong counter-argument that individual sports, namely tennis or swimming, are one step ahead in advantages. In my perspective, both types of sports are essential for character building in human life. This essay will delve into both aspects with relevant examples in support of my argument.

To begin with, sports played in teams develop many traits in players such as empathy, compassion, and teamwork. As these characters are imperative for building an ideal society in which people are considerate for others. Moreover, this will help in building a strong and peaceful social structure. For Instance, a survey carried out by New York Times reveals that people playing games in teams are more co-operative in nature. Hence, importance of sports played in groups cannot be ignored.

On the other hand, individual sports promotes self-confidence and decision-making abilities in players. These attributs makes a person not only self-dependent but also psychologically strong to take effective and efficient decisions in life. For example, research by Cambridge University shows that players playing individual games have better decision-making capability as compared to others. Therefore, individual sports have vital role in an individual's life.

In conclusion, both types of sports develop different types of qualities in people which have paramount significance in building a society. So, in my opinion both types of sports serves different purpose and both are pivotal.