Demand for food is increasing worldwide.What is the cause of this?What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

Nowadays, the world is facing the scarcity of food items, and the demand for food has drastically increased. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this menace, and also suggest some viable solutions to curb this problem.

The primary factors responsible for this negative development are rapidly growing population and usage of the traditional methods in the agriculture sector. Without question, the shortage of food is due to the rapid expansion of the population. It has increased the consumption rate but the annual yield is still the same. Additionally, using the old ways of cultivation has further worsened this situation. In many countries, the annual rate of crop production has decreased because the traditional methods have reduced the fertility of the land. As per the survey conducted by The Sunday Times, more than 30 percent of the agricultural land has lost its fertility in recent years due to the usage of old methods in the agriculture sector, thereby reducing the production.

Admittedly, the above-referenced issues exist; however, these issues could be resolved by adopting measures, namely educational programs and improving farming techniques. The educational campaigns could be helpful in controlling the population growth as they can educate people about the consequences of the exponential growth of the population and its effects on food resources. For example, Japan was successful in controlling its annual population growth in recent years after these awareness programs. Moreover, there is also a dire need to find advanced techniques to increase the annual production rate without compromising the quality of the soil.

For example, yield can be improved by using suitable fertilizers and a better irrigation system.

In conclusion, the demand for food is increasing due to the uncontrolled expansion of the population and using primitive methods in agriculture. The awareness programs and technological advancements are the feasible solutions to resolve these issues.